A. ŽMUIDZINAVIČIUS CREATIONS AND COLLECTIONS MUSEUM / DEVILS' MUSEUM (TEMPORARILY CLOSED FOR CONSTRUCTION WORKS)
The Museum of Creation and Collections of A. Žmuidzinavičius (1876–1966) opened its doors in 1966 in his own house built after the project of a famous architect Vytautas Landsbergis- Žemkalnis.
The memorial house exhibit introduces the life of the painter and his family. The home and the artist’s workshop have retained the environment of the 1920s and 1930s: authentic pieces of furniture and various interior details of that time. Here you can admire the paintings and collections of the artist, study interesting documents from his abundant archive.
Antanas Žmuidzinavičius is famous for his devil collection which alongside a constantly increasing amount of evil creatures was moved in 1982 from the artist’s workshop to the outhouse (architect Algirdas Mažeika) named Devils Museum. The only museum in the world contains at present more than 3.000 objects which are works of fine and applied art, souvenirs, masks, etc. The museum organizes exhibitions, celebrations, guided tours, and educational activities, visitors can acquire original, witty, and smart souvenirs.